Previous Year Winners
Nominations Form
The Distinguished Alumnus Award (DAA) is the highest award given by the Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur to its alumni in recognition of their achievements of exceptional merit.
Daa Profile-Abhay K. Bhushan ( BT/EE/65 )

and serves on the boards of Point Cross and Mobile Web Surf

He obtained his B. Tech degree in Electrical Engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, in 1965. He obtained both his Masters in EE and Masters in Management degrees from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He has been the mentor of a host of start-up ventures in USA. He was a major contributor to the development of the Internet TCP/IP architecture, and was the author of FTP and the early versions of email protocols. He is co-holder of 12 US patents on semiconductor drying and cleaning technologies.

Mr. Bhushan initiated and managed the Environmental Leadership Program at Xerox and authored the widely acclaimed ‘Business Guide to Waste Reduction and Recycling'. He was co-founder of YieldUP International, which went public on NASDAQ in 1995, and of Portola Communications, which was acquired by Netscape in 1997. In 1978-79 he worked on Rural Development in Allahabad, India, and was President of Indians for Collective Action, supporting grassroots development projects in India. He received the Community Service Award from the Indo-American Chamber of Commerce. He is presently the Chief Financial Officer of the IITK Foundation, USA, founding past president of PanIIT USA, and Coordinator for the PanIIT Global Committee.

Mr. Abhay K. Bhushan has been conferred with the Distinguished Alumnus Award of IIT Kanpur, for excellence in entrepreneurship and his outstanding contributions to social activities.

Personal Home Page


Sponsored by IITK Foundation
Copyright © 2002. IIT Kanpur Alumni Association